Posted by: rbbadger | June 28, 2011

The week’s highlights

Well, it has been a busy week in Jeonju.  It has also been a wet and rainy week.  Typhoon Maeri was in the neighbourhood.  It did hit the Korean penisula, having made landfall in North Korea.  I haven’t seen any reports of major damage in the North.  I saw some trees that were blown over on Sunday.  Other than that, there wasn’t too much damage here.  Other areas of the country were harder hit. 

Foolishly, noting that the rain had stopped, I decided to some shopping at E-Mart.  E-Mart, owned by the Shinsegae Group of department stores, is one of Korea’s Wal-Mart like shopping centres.  The others are Lotte Mart, which I don’t tend to favour, as I see it as overpriced and lacking in selection.  E-Mart has a better selection, but on Saturdays, it can seem as if the entire population of North Jeolla Province (1,784,013) is shopping there.  Anyhow, by the time I got out of E-Mart, it had started raining heavily again and taxis were hard to find, as they tend to be when the weather is bad.  So, I had to take all my stuff home on the bus.  Thankfully, it wasn’t much.

Speaking of the bus, I am quickly learning the bus routes.  Jeonju does not have a subway.  If you can’t read Korean, you’re at something of a disadvantage here, as the bus routes are only indicated in Korean.  The buses are plentiful and cheap, costing less than a dollar to ride. 

I really do find the Jeonju people to be pretty friendly.  They weren’t unfriendly in Seoul.  But people do tend to get friendlier when you get out of the big cities.  I really think that this city has a lot going for it.  It has a river, a lot of beautiful architecture, and excellent food. 

Not a lot has been going on other than that.  I’m keeping busy and keeping well.

Responses

  1. Thanks for this post Robert! Your mother needs to hear something personal like this every week! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

