Posted by: rbbadger | June 4, 2011

A few photos of Jeonju

I am going to post a few photos of Jeonju I took a while back.  Let’s begin with the Cathedral, quite possibly the nicest one in the entire country.  As attached as I am to Myeongdong Cathedral in Seoul, the Cathedral in Jeonju is very nice and quite unique, given that it is a blend of a couple of different architectural styles.

The first missionaries to Korea were French.  This cathedral, as well as Myeongdong Cathedral in Seoul, was designed by a French missionary priest.  The priest in question, Fr Poisnel, oversaw the final completion of the cathedral in Seoul.  The architect of Seoul’s cathedral had died before it was completed.  Many of the missionaries who came to this country were men of skills in a variety of areas.  Some of them were architects in addition to being missionaries.

Jeonju is also the hometown of a couple of very prominent families in Korean history.  The first family I’m going to mention has a rather, how shall we put it, infamous reputation.  The Jeonju Kim clan includes such people as North Korea’s late founder Kim Il-sung as well as that of his son, Kim Jong-il.  The other really famous family is that of the Jeonju Yi Family, otherwise known as the Royal Family.  In downtown Jeonju, there is a very beautiful shrine which holds the portraits of various kings and emperors of the Joseon dynasty (1392-1910).

Like many Korean cities, Jeonju was originally a walled city.  Almost all of the old city gates are one, but fortunately this one still survives.

And as is always the case, strange usages of English can always be found.

Responses

  1. So you had been to Jeonju before? HaHaHa…Making good face! 🙂

    • I had visited a while ago. As I said, I was really taken with the city. Another city I would love to work is Cheonan. That one is about the same size, but much closer to Seoul. However, a 2 1/2 bus ride isn’t that long, so if I do need to go to Seoul, that can be easily done. The buses leave every ten minutes.

  2. I’m so glad you made it safe and sound! How was your trip (as far as transcontinental trips go)? Have you met your students yet? How is your school? When do you start officially teaching? What other subjects will you be teaching? How’s your apartment?

    Apparently, you left AZ just in time–we are up in flames! They just closed the mountain here today because the rest of the state is on fire. No scouts allowed! Ha ha. (Ha?). Anyway, I hope you’re doing great! Email me! Or post answers on your blog since I asked here. Ha ha. Have a great day!

    • My trip was pretty good and everything went well. I have met my students, but I don’t start teaching until tomorrow (Tuesday). Today is a National Holiday, so I have even more time to recover. And that I have been trying to do. The apartment is very nice. The further you get from Seoul, the larger the apartments tend to be.

      I heard about the fires. They have me really concerned.


Leave a Reply

Categories

