Posted by: rbbadger | June 3, 2011

Back in Korea

Well, after a few months hiatus and general rest and recovery from the joy that is teaching, I am back in the saddle so to speak and back in Korea.  Maybe I will have to change the name of this blog, given that I’m no longer in or near Wabu-eup. 

Anyhow, I’m in Jeonju, a smaller city number about 650,000 inhabitants and which serves as the provincial capital of Jeollabuk-do, otherwise known as North Jeolla Province.  It is a very nice city as far as Korean cities go.  A good site to see what cultural and historical sites are here can be found by clicking here.

Jeonju is also home to bibimbap, that wonderful dish of rice, vegetables, meat, spicy red pepper paste, and an egg.  While this dish can be found all over the country, it was invented here in Jeonju. 

It is good to be back in Korea.  I look forward to renewing my acquaintance with kimchi, especially that of the Jeolla Provinces. 

I have visited this city before and was really taken with it.  I have posted photos before and will be posting those links once I get around to it.

Responses

  1. So glad you made it safe and sound, though you are just too far away! 😦

  2. Welcome back! I know Jeonju is home to one of Korea’s most beautiful cathedrals.

    • Thanks for the welcome. It is indeed good to be back, though always hard to be separated from family. That being said, I am rather quite attached to the people of the Jeolla provinces, given that my first job was in Gwangju. Because I was introduced to kimchi in Gwangju, I’ve always found the kimchi of other regions lacking in some way. It was good to taste the full flavors of Jeolla-do kimchi again. I really missed it.

  3. Will you be changing the name of the blog, now that the news is no longer coming from Wabu-eup?


Leave a Reply

Categories

