Posted by: rbbadger | February 10, 2010

Illegal Tutoring

One way in which English teachers in Korea earn extra money is by tutoring.  Some families, especially in the Gangnam district, pay upwards of 50,000 to 70,000 won an hour for a tutor to teach their child individually.  Technically, this is not something that we are allowed to do, at least not those of us who hold an E-2 Visa.  Under Korean Visa Law, my visa can only be used with my employer.  If he allows me to add a second employer, say a public school, then I can.  But otherwise, I cannot engage in any other teaching on the side.  I could get fined or deported.

Immigration is thinking about changing this policy, especially to make it possible to tax the income received from such tutoring.  I myself have never done it, as I’ve always been scrupulous to observe the rules.  Also, if the truth be told, at the end of a long day of teaching, more teaching just doesn’t sound appealing to me.  Anyhow, you can read about what the Korea Immigration Service is thinking of doing by clicking here.

Responses

  1. We’re glad you are scrupulous in observing the rules there! How is your job search going?


Leave a Reply

Categories

