Posted by: rbbadger | February 6, 2010

The Gas Boiler (part 2)

Well, they did fix the gas boiler today.  It didn’t take long, either.  It took about 20 minutes, something I found sort of surprising.   The last couple of days, I have been reading through quite a few Rinnai manuals, hoping to find something that I could do on my own to make it work again.  As is often the case, it is best to leave these things in the hands of professionals. 

I found that the motor which powers the blower had burned out.  My heating system is based off of the traditional Korean heating system known as ondol.  In ondol heating, the floor is heated.  There are no ducts of any kind.  Underneath the floor are pipes containing heated water.  These warm up and heat the floor.  I’ve only seen it in one place in the USA, and that is in the rectory of St. John the Baptist Catholic Church in my hometown.  The blower is important, as it blows out the poisonous and flammable gases through the exhaust pipe sticking out the side of my house.  Rinnai hot water heaters do not have pilot lights, something which is fine, as I really hate lighting those things.  I’m always afraid of them blowing up.  Rather, my boiler ignites the gas by means of an electric spark.  So, if it would have been able to be turned on after the blower motor went out, it is likely that there would have been an explosion, given that they there would have been a build-up of flammable gases. 

They put a new motor in and all is well in that respect.

Responses

  1. hooray! heating! and no explosions! i’m the same about lighting pilot lights. i HATE doing it!! i don’t mind cooking with gas if i don’t have to do the lighting at some point.

  2. Yea for heat!
    I don’t light pilot lights. If the pilot on the furnace goes out when Jeremy’s gone we’re just cold until he gets it lit.


Leave a Reply

Categories

