Posted by: rbbadger | November 1, 2009

The Korean love of quick food

The Chosun Ilbo, one of the major newspapers here in the ROK, recently did a feature on the Korean love of quick food.  It features such things as instant coffee, which is huge here, ramyeon, and other things.

http://english.chosun.com/site/data/html_dir/2009/10/30/2009103000186.html

When I first came to Korea, I noticed that my new house had a coffee maker.  So, I decided to go forth and try to find some coffee to go with it.  It took quite a bit of looking, as the place was mostly stocked with instant.  Coffee mix is a ubiquitous thing in Korea.  For a nation with a long and venerable tea tradition, the embrace of coffee is pretty surprising.  And while Starbucks may now be everywhere here, most of the coffee consumed in Korea is instant.

Instant ramyeon is huge here as well.  Before I came to Korea, I never thought that ramyeon, or ramen as it is known in the USA, could ever come in so many different flavours.  Some of my students like to buy the ramyeon noodles, sprinkle the powder on them, and eat them uncooked.

HT: The Marmot’s Hole

Responses

  1. My boys like to eat their ramen that way sometimes. They learned it from Jeremy’s little brother. I think it’s a little silly. 🙂

  2. There is another idea of quickly cooking ramyeon in the Korean army. It is called Pogeuri (뽀글이). After mixing powder with ramyeon, you pour hot water directly into the plastic envelop of ramyeon and seal it with a clip. After a couple of minutes, you can eat the ramyeon from the envelope. It is a way of avoiding using cookware.

    When I cook ramyeon, I boil the noodle first and throw out the oily water and bring the noodle into the freshly boiled water. Then, I put the powder in it and boil again. And EVOO makes the flavor better. For Japageti (짜파게피), I use EVOO instead of the oil from the product. It tastes a lot better and healthier.

    Some people also say that putting a spoon of vinegar into boiling water make the taste better. When I was in the army, many soldiers put a piece of cheese into cup ramyeon, which made ramyeon tastier.

    However, I do not eat ramyeon that often, because my stomach is sensitive and I often have stomachache from it.

  3. P.S. Adding chopped scallions, mushrooms and egg into boiling ramyeon also makes it more flavorful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

