Posted by: rbbadger | March 29, 2009

Immigration

In November of 2006, the Roh administration tightened the visa regulations for teachers here in Korea.  I was affected by these regulations.  I had to go to the doctor and get a physical and have a number of tests done.  But worst of all, I had to get an apostille.  Unfortunately, if I switch jobs, the likelihood is that I will have to go through the apostille process again AND get another physical.   I just wish that they’d keep the apostille on file.  I don’t have any quibbles with the physical, though.  I live in Korea.  They know that I’m not a criminal, as they have my criminal record search showing that I don’t have a criminal record.  But apparently, if I switch employers, there is a strong likelihood that I will have to go through the apostille process all over again.

Anyhow, many of the teachers are up in arms over the fact that a teacher was able to renew her visa without getting the required health checks.  I didn’t have to get them this time around because I’ve already had them.  However, this teacher didn’t have any health checks and just submitted a letter to immigration stating that she objected to them on the grounds of privacy.  And Immigration renewed her visa!   You can read about this story here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

